News > Dongguan News
Dongguan to host world's top players & key tennis events
2020-01-10 10:18     Source : Dongguan Today


Dongguan Tennis Centre

Fed Cup was launched in 1963 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the International Tennis Federation (ITF). It is now the world's largest annual international women's team competition with 108 nations and regions entered. This year, six teams will compete in the Asia/Oceania Group I events in the Dongguan Tennis Centre in early February 2020.

Top Asian players to face elite Oceanic players in Dongguan during the Spring Festival

The 2020 Fed Cup Asia/Oceania Group I ties will take place in the Dongguan Tennis Centre this February. Six top teams from China, India, Indonesia, Chinese Taipei, South Korea and Uzbekistan will entertain fans with intense and exciting games. Promotion and relegation will be determined by group finishing positions. Teams finishing in 1st and 2nd place will be promoted to the race for 2021 Qualifiers in April. Teams finishing 5th and 6th will be relegated.

Authorized by the ITF, this competition is co-hosted by the Tennis Management Centre of the General Administration of Sport of China, Sports Bureau of Guangdong Province and People's Government of Dongguan Municipality, and organized by the Culture, Radio, Television, Tourism and Sports Bureau of Dongguan Municipality. Dongguan will provide every effort for the Asia/Oceania Group I events of the 2020 Fed Cup tournament, to make it a memorable first international sports' event in 2020.

Holding the 2020 Fed Cup on home turf will help promote the development of tennis in Dongguan and across the whole country, plus motivate tennis fans to participate in national fitness activities. It has also contributed to the cultivation of reserve talents, which will further advance the high-quality development of tennis in Dongguan.

China will compete in the 2020 Feb Cup tennis tournament

The increase of entries led to the creation of regional qualifying competitions. The current format, introduced in 2005, incorporates World Group I, World Group II and the Regional Group. The Regional Group is divided into three regions: Americas, Asia/Oceania and Europe/Africa. Promotion and relegation occur annually, with countries in World Group I competing to be crowned champion.

By 2020, the tournament's revamped format and "World Cup of Tennis" structure was announced by the ITF. In the new composition, competition in the World Group will be carried out in two stages: Qualifiers and Finals. Qualifiers play on a home-and-away basis, Finals employ Major League Gaming (MLG), while the pattern of Regional Groups remains unchanged. The games will be held from 3rd to 9th February 2020. The winning nations in Regional Group I will met the losing teams in the 2020 Qualifiers in April to decide a place and also a spot at 2021 Qualifiers.

In 2008, China made it to the semi-finals in World Group I, and is the best the Chinese team has ever achieved in the Fed Cup. This year, China will host the 2020 Fed Cup Asia/Oceania Group I tournament. As the host, China will focus on the match and hopes for a better performance!

(By Ashley Zheng and Sev Pischl)

Editor: 郑思慧